Paper Assistants Part One

I want to share with you some “paper assistants” that are helping me prepare for my new journey, and my new life.  I offer you quotes from each book instead of summaries because, believe it or not, I am still reading all of them (there is a lot to absorb!). These books are so inspiring that the only way to read them is slowly.

********************************************************************************

The Wholehearted Journey: Bringing Qualities of Soul to Everyday Life and Work by Denise Bissonnette

“Throughout the course of our lives we are going to experience highs and lows. We enter rich streams of joy and vitality for some long time, only to find ourselves beached, empty of purpose and direction, at other times. Such is the journey of the human spirit. But noticing when we are beached and that we are beached is critical if we are ever to enter a new stream and belong again to those life-giving waters that carry us to beautiful places within ourselves. It is at those time in out lives when we feel as if we have nothing to give and nothing to receive that we need practices, disciplines or simply daily habits that can reawaken our senses and sensibilities to the sacredness of existence and the preciousness of life.”

Finding Your Own North Star Journal by Martha Beck

“According to my dictionary, the North Star, known to its friends as Stella Polaris, is ‘situated close to the north pole of the heavens.’ Because of its location, the North Star doesn’t appear to move around in the sky as the other star do; it is a ‘fixed point’ that can always be used to figure out which way you are headed. The same relationship exists between you and your right life, the ultimate realization of your potential for happiness. You may think you’re utterly lost, but wait for the clouds to clear, and you’ll see your destiny shining as brightly as ever: the fixed point in the constantly changing constellations of your life.”

Escape from Cubicle Nation: From Corporate Prisoner to Thriving Entrepreneur by Pamela Slim

I picked up this book after being enthralled with a blog post written by Slim: “Blow Up Traditional Careers in Favor of Bodies of Work.” Her writing is highly engaging and easy to relate to and this book is one of the best I’ve read about careers.  This letter is one of the most powerful that I have read (it is also included in the book) and it gave me the idea to write letters to several people at my organization (and not mail them, of course; I’m not interested in totally sabotaging my career!)  Slim’s writing will strike a chord with anyone who works/has worked for a large organization.

The following quote is from a section of the book called “Prepare to Walk through No Man’s Land.” She writes: “No matter how great the ultimate benefit of a change, going from ‘what was’ to ‘what will be’ can be very unsettling.”

One of her pieces of advice is “Embrace it.” She writes:

“Instead of asking yourself ‘When am I going to get back to normal?’ be thankful that you are given an opportunity to reflect on your life and come out with a new, improved, emotionally healthier you. You may not want to do this in public, but repeat the mantra ‘Uncertainty is powerful and liberating!’ as often as you can and you may just begin to believe it.”

I do feel thankful for this opportunity. And in a time when I feel very alone on this journey, I am grateful for these books and these authors’ words to help me along.

*********************************************************************************


5 thoughts on “Paper Assistants Part One

  1. Pingback: Paper Assistants Part Two | me myself and nicole

  2. Pingback: Paper Assistants Part Three | me myself and nicole

  3. Pingback: “An inner act of heroism” | me myself and nicole

Leave a Reply

